Go to top of page

Biosphere People

The Western Port Biosphere Reserve region is made up of five local government council areas including Bass Coast Shire, Cardinia Shire, City of Casey, Frankston City and the Mornington Peninsula Shire.

The Biosphere has a population of approximately 670,000 residents, with an increase of more than 100,000 during peak seasons.  The Biosphere has a mix of industries including agriculture and tourism and demographics range from young families through to retirees.