The Biosphere Foundation's research committee has strong links to scientific and educational institutions. It includes the following members:

Sharron Pfueller, Retired Senior Research Fellow, School of Geography & Environmental Science, Monash University (Chair of Research Committee)

With backgrounds in both community-based environmental action and in biochemical and environmental research, Sharron coordinated and taught a Masters degree in Environment and Sustainability. Her research interests were in education for sustainability and community participation in planning for sustainable tourism, natural resource management and environmental monitoring.

Terry Coates, Ecologist, Royal Botanic Gardens Cranbourne

Terry is an ecologist at the Royal Botanic Gardens Cranbourne, which is a Division of the Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne. The site contains a significant patch of remnant vegetation that supports a large number of threatened flora and fauna. Terry's research is focused on sustainable management of biodiversity at the site. His current areas of interest include ecological fire management, restoration, exotic flora and fauna and the monitoring and management of threatened species and communities.

David Nicholls, Bandicoot Recovery Project Officer, Biosphere Foundation

David Nicholls is a former teacher of conservation management. He was a founding member of the Biosphere's Research Committee bringing an interest in Australian small mammals (he contributes to the Biosphere's Bandicoot Recovery) and international research on albatrosses.

Garrique Pergl, Strategic Planner Natural Systems, Mornington Peninsula Shire

Garrique Pergl has professional knowledge, experience and skills in environmental impact assessment, regional natural resource management, social planning, environmental education and community engagement in government and community sectors. He has conducted both individual and team based research into natural resource management and social planning in academic, government and community roles.

He has taught at Diploma level and in community education and has developed associated educational materials. He has extensive experience on steering and management committees in government, education and community sectors and has broad experience in securing financial resources from government and private sectors and associated project management responsibilities.

Ian Stevenson, Executive Officer, Western Port Catchment Committee

Ian has spent 20 years in environmental management within local government at interface councils abutting Western Port. Ian’s responsibilities range from policy development to on-ground works and community support in topics including biodiversity, Aboriginal and post-contact cultural heritage, resource conservation including energy, greenhouse, water conservation, waste. Ian has spent many years living around Western Port.

Peter Woodgate, CEO, Cooperative Research Centre for Spatial Information

Peter Woodgate is currently the Chief Executive Officer of the Cooperative Research Centre for Spatial Information, a $95 million investment by over 70 partners from the industry, government and university sectors across Australia in the use of satellite imaging, global positioning systems and other spatial technologies. He has a long-standing interest in forest management, salinity research, greenhouse and the use of remote sensing for monitoring natural resources.